Flawless Skin: My Picks For The Top 3 Drugstore BB Creams

Slide1I realize that envy is not the loveliest virtue to possess, but I must say that nothing makes me more green with envy, then seeing a woman with flawless, perrrfect skin.  Don’t you agree that there is something so quintessentially beautiful about gorgeous skin- its flawless, smooth, wrinkle and blemish-free, glowy, and by the looks of it- makeup-free (Ugghhh, just kill me now). To get a better mental image of the type of skin I am describing, let’s look at a few celebs whose skin we should all covet (and whose dermatologist we should stalk).

Exhibit A- Michelle Williams

Michelle Williams at My Week With Marilyn Premiere in Hollywood

Angelic skin that is poreless perfection! Luscious and dewy.

Exhibit B- Natalie Portman

Swoon- worthy skin, not a blemish in sight.

Exhibit C– Jen Aniston

jennifer

This woman is 43 years old?! She obviously won the genetic lottery for skin.

We each know at least one woman with skin like this.  She’s usually the one you can’t help but stare at at any and every social function, as she always looks effortless (mind bogglingly) beautiful, without the slightest trace of foundation.  Although I am sure she is a lovely woman, I have to admit, it really peeves me off when she gives me the following answer when I  ask her what she uses to get such beautiful skin… something like, “What? My skin? Oh, I just use a little soap and water…maybe a touch of concealer under the eyes.”  Wait.  Say what?  A little soap and water? A touch of concealer? Common now!  Let’s be honest, she is probably is wearing something but it’s definitely isn’t thick nor is it cakey.  Hmmmmmm…..

If you ask me, I happen to think she’s probably using an awesome BB cream.

By now, I am sure you are all very familiar with BB cream, which stands for either Beauty Balm or Blemish Balm, (they also go by many other impressive titles).  In Canada, this past Spring, we were introduced to CC cream- Colour Correcting Cream, and I kid you not, I have just come across DD cream (not sure what it stands for, but I do think they are taking this whole double letter thing a little too far).  Anyways, back to the BB creams.  BB creams are simply a multitasking, effortless, foolproof products (think: glorified tinted moisturizer) used to correct a number of skin issues all in 1 simple step.  Things like evening out skin tone, hydrating the skin, providing sun-protection, blurring the look of imperfections etc. etc.  As with most makeup junkies, I have tried a number of luxury brand BB cream as well as many mass brands, and if there is one conclusion that I have reached, it’s that you can find a darn good BB cream at any price point.

Below are my picks for the top 3 Drugstore BB creams to give you enviable, celebrity-worthy skin, all below $20:

1. Revlon PhotoReady BB Cream, $19.99

RevlonThis BB cream gets my vote for #1 Drugstore BB cream.  The texture is a litle thicker than most North-American BB  creams (if you are familiar with Korean BB creams, then you will probably like this one!), but it blends so well and dries down to a beautiful satin finish.  It is quite hydrating (so you might be able to skip your moisturizer if you arn’t too dry), and contains SPF 30 broad spectrum sunscreen so it is nice to use all year round. I like this BB cream for anyone with normal to dry skin type that wants a fresh, dewy look to their skin.   The colour range is perfectly neutral (isn’t too pink or yellow), so the shades are incredibly natural looking.  It has light to moderate coverage, so you might be able to get away with just wearing it alone, but if you have some  troubled areas, you might require a little added concealer.  A major winner in my books!  Available in 4 shades.

2. Maybelline Dream Fresh BB Cream, $11.99

maybe This BB cream is super light (i.e: very liquidy, not creamy at all) and gives you hydrated, smooth, dewy, even-toned skin. I love the fact that is also contains an SPF of 30.  It is perfect for those moments when you don’t want to look like you are trying too hard (think: camping, cottaging), so I would recommend this product to anyone who already has an amazing complexion and doesn’t need much coverage at all.  My favorite thing about this BB cream is that it brightens my skin instantly (not to worry, this does not mean sparkly or shiny), so its wonderful to use when you want to look well-rested, but have only had an hour of sleep.  An awesome guilt-free addition to any makeup case.   Available in 5 shades.

3. Garnier Skin Renew BB Cream Combination to Oily Skin, $19.99garnier

Oh Garnier, you have gotten it so very right this time!  I love this BB cream because it does exactly what it says it will.   It is my top pick for those with shiny/oily/blemish prone skin, as it leaves your face perfectly poreless and matte.  It keeps shine at bay for quite some time, although you might eventually need a touch of powder or blot from a blotting paper if you are extremely oily.   The coverage is still pretty sheer, like any BB cream, but it manages to hide small imperfections with 1 application.  The formula is buildable, so you can add a touch more if you think you need it.  On top of all that goodness, the bottle contains 60ml, so it should last you a very long time.  If for any reason you arn’t completely loving this product for your face, I wanted to point out that it also doubles quite nicely as body makeup (think: legs with spider veins) for those occasions when you are wearing skirts…so it’s quite the multitasker!  Available in 2 shades.

The best way to apply any BB cream is with your clean fingers, as oppose to a makeup sponge or brush- as any tool will likely soak up the product.  I really think that the warmth of your hands makes the product more maliable and fluid-like,  giving skin a beautiful, natural finish. Start with a small, pea-size amount, working your way out from the middle of your face.  Apply more, as you need.   Because these products do not contain as much pigment (this is what makes them so fool-proof) as your typical foundation, you may want to apply a light dusting of powder on top to make sure everything stays in place for the whole day.

Now run along to your nearest Shoppers Drug Mart, and give Jen Aniston  a run for her money!

xo

2 thoughts on “Flawless Skin: My Picks For The Top 3 Drugstore BB Creams

Leave a Reply

