One Of The Many Reasons I Adore Burt’s Bees: Herbal Blemish Stick

product_thumb.phpBreakouts are one of those things that can instantaneously put me in a foul mood.  Something about having a raging red bulls eye, smack dab in the middle of my face, that no amount of well-placed concealer can hide, does not exactly make me cheery…and I am quite sure that I’m not alone.  I have long fought my acne prone skin since my early teens, and although the severity and duration of my breakouts have greatly improved over the years :) – there are still times when I wonder why the hell this is stilllllllll happening to me.  I kid you not, I had this exact conversation with one of my best friend’s the other night (punctuated by a few choice curse words over a few glasses of wine), as to why we are still battling zits, well into our late-twenties.

The following questions were raised:

Will the madness EVER end?

Will I ever see that gap (albeit, narrow gap) in time when I am free of all skin ailments, before I start having to deal with my next skin crisis- wrinkles?!? 

I have a Health & Beauty blog for Pete’s sake I shouldn’t be dealing with this! 

Ughhhhhhhh!!!!

I can tell you, as per that last very logical statement, that indeed, even Health & Beauty bloggers get bogged down with zits.  So you need not  fret, as are not alone.

Trust me when I say that throughout the years I have tried everything on the market to help me with this problem.  In my teens, when my acne was cystic and out-of-control, the derm put me on expensive prescriptions antibiotics, birth-control pill, as well as Accutane (don’t worry, not all at the same time).  A few years later, when things started to clear up, I began trying every single cleanser, toner and zit- remedy known to mankind.   If there is one, single conclusion that I have come to over the last few years it’s that I have had my best success by using gentle products, rather than drying ones.  Sure Benzoyl Peroxide can help get rid of that zit in a jiffy, but it will be sure to leave you red, raw, and dried-out.  Not exactly the look you want.

THE PRODUCT

I came across Burt’s Bees Herbal Blemish stick, $12.99 about three years ago, when I purchased it on a whim.  Today, it sits in my medicine cabinet, as my go-to acne remedy when any random zit that shows up on my skin.  I like to put it on immediately once I feel something brewing (you know that feeling!), as it works immediately and effectively to start clearing what’s happening under the skin.

It is unlike any anti-acne product I have ever tried.   This all-natural blemish elixir does not have a creamy texture like so many products on the market, but rather, it’s texture is oily and not the least bit drying.  I put it on over my nightly moisturizer and let it work its magic over night (but you can still use it under makeup).   It literally gets sucked into your skin, leaving no greasy residue, whatsoever.   This little miracle-worker might take slightly longer to help clear up or stop a breakout, but I can assure you that it will never leave you red or raw.   The only thing that may turn you off of this product, is the scent- as it smells like black licorice, due to its use of fennel for oil-control.   I personally LOVE the scent!  It also contains detoxifying Tea-tree Leaf oil, along with Willowbark extracts (this is salicylic acid in its all-natural form) to unclog pores, as well as parsley and calendula to reduce skin inflammation and redness.

This formula is also paraben & phthalate free :)

I have recommended this product to a number of friends, all of whom have had great success with it for their mild acne.  I think you should give it a whirl.

Let me know what you think:)

You can find Burt’s Bees products at most Health Food Stores, most Drug Stores, Whole Foods, and Real Canadian Super Store,

xo

Leave a Reply

