Tis’ Time for Fall: World’s Easiest Vegetarian Chili Recipe

IMG_7621It might seem a little early for Fall comfort food- but I honestly think that the moment kids are back at  school and Fall clothing has taken over the malls- something happens, and you start to feel a chill in the air.  When this occurs, I am sure you can agree with me, that there is nothing better than coming home to a piping hot cup of soup or chili.  This recipe is one that I have made over the last 5 years, and I simply adore it, because I customize and change it a little bit each and every time.   When I bring it to work for lunch, I will always get a couple co-workers asking me,  What smells so good?!?  Although you can use ground meat in the recipe, I don’t – first off because I don’t eat very much meat,  and secondly, it tastes sort of smoky anyways which gives it a ‘meaty’ flavour, naturally.   This chili is chock full of  vitamins and minerals from the veggies, as well protein and  fiber from the beans, to keep you full throughout the day.  Below, I also mention my newest way of eating this chili- pureed– which gives it the same great taste, but an entirely different texture. I highly recommend you giv’er a try.

Ingredients:

*** You will need a large slow cooker and an immersion blender (hand-held blender) if you want to puree.

*** Please note that you can cut your veggies as small or as big as you like, depending on how you like your chili

2 tbsp of Coconut Oil (for cooking) – don’t get virgin coconut oil, as your chili will taste like the carribbean

1 cans of Chopped/Chunky Tomatoes (feel free to add a second if you want more tomatoes)

1 can of Tomato Paste

1 can of black beans

1 can of red kidney beans (or white)

1 can of romano beans

2 tbsp of Fresh Garlic, put through a garlic press

1 large Cooking Onion, cut into bite size chunks

2 large Green Peppers, cut into bite size chunks

Optional: 2 large Carrots ‘shaven’ with carrot/potato peeler to make them long and stringy

2 cups of Water

1 tbsp of Chili Powder

1 1/2 tbsp Cumin

1 tsp Smoked Paprika

1 tbsp Tumeric

Optional: 1 tbsp of Curry Powder

Salt and Pepper to taste

Putting It All Together:

  1. In a skillet, melt coconut oil over medium/high heat
  2. Once oil has melted,  start cooking garlic and onions until translucent (a couple minutes) and then stir in green peppers.  Cook for another 5 minutes or so, until soft.
  3. In your slow cooker, put in canned tomatoes, beans, tomato paste, and green pepper mixture and all spices (except salt and pepper…put those in at the end).  Stir in carrots (if you choose to use them).
  4. Put in water and then stir the mixture in the slow cooker until your arm feels like its going to fall off.  This means, until everything is super melded together nicely :)
  5. Set the timer for 8-10 hours on a low temperature.  Put lid on.
  6. Stir every few hours or so.  I like to make this in the morning, and it will be ready for dinner.
  7. Once it is done, use salt and pepper to taste.
  8. Serve it up OR puree it immediately with the immersion blender.
No, this is not cat food.  It's the chili done my favorite way....pureed!

Chili done my favorite way….pureed!

I like to make this chili, and then once the leftovers have cooled,  I simply scoop it into individual tupperware and freeze…then you have lots of chili for throughout the week.  So much healthier than eating out:)  As a word of caution (sorry if I am insulting your intelligence with this one), but please make sure the chili is cool before putting it into tupperware, as well as don’t ever heat up your food in tupperware- as you will risk having poisonous chemicals from the plastic leach into your food!  Not exactly what you want.

What did that take- all of 20 minutes to prepare?  Plus cooking time?  Easy. Peasy.

Let me know what you think :)

xo—

Leave a comment